East African Educational Publishers



Brief History

It all started in 1965 when two British publishers, Heinemann and Cassell, formed a groundwork for publishing in Nairobi. In those days, the whole of Africa used to be a market place where books published in European metropolises were transported to and sold.

In 1972, our company Chairman, Dr. Henry Chakava, was appointed as the first African Editor at Heinemann. From then on, we have moved from heights to heights. The leadership of Dr. Chakava gained international recognition when Oxford Brooks University honoured him with a doctorate last year for his indefatigable contribution to publishing not only in the African continent, but also on the international scene.

In 1968, Heinnemann Educational Books (EA) Limited changed its name to Heinemann ( Kenya ) Ltd when part of it became locally owned. Twenty four years later, in 1992, the company became the first multinational publishing firm to enjoy full local ownership, and thereby changed its name to East African Educational Publishers. As you can see, we have come a long way.

Our list of literary authors reads like a Who is Who in Africa. We are the publishers of Ngugi wa Thiong’o, Chinua Achebe, Meja Mwangi, Peter Abrahams, Marjorie Oludhe Macgoye, Ali Mazrui, Grace Ogot, David Rubadiri, Francis Imbuga and indeed many other household names in the world of literature. Besides these, we continue to nurture new talent in order to perpetuate the African writers list to posterity.



Contact Person: Triza Kinoru

Physical Address : Brick Court, Mpaka Road/Woodvale Grove, Westlands

Email: enquiry@eastafricanpublishers.com oreaep@eastafricanpublishers.com

Postal Address: P.O. Box 45314 -00100- Nairobi

Phone: +254 20 4444700/44452601/1

Fax: +254 20 4448753