eKitabu Announces Results of the 7th Annual Digital Essay Competition
September 25, 2019
No items found.

Over 13,500 students across all 47 counties of Kenya wrote proposals on how technology can help solve problems in their schools

Nairobi, Wednesday 25th September 2019: eKitabu, organizer of the Digital Essay Competition and leader in delivering accessible digital content for inclusive and quality education in Kenya, today announced winners of the 7th annual Digital Essay Competition (DEC).The 2019 winners came from schools across all 47 counties of Kenya, and were among over 13,500 students who submitted essays answering the question: “Think of a problem in your school: how can technology help to solve this problem?” Essay categories were Kiswahili, English, French, Art, Braille, German and Kenyan Sign Language (KSL) for both upper primary and secondary levels.‘‘We reached schools in all 47 counties of Kenya this year: Wakenya, tuko digital,’’ noted Will Clurman, CEO of eKitabu.In the English Category, Sheyma Mohamed Ali Salai of Mnara Junior Academy in Garissa received the grand prize for primary Schools, while Gichuru Angel Joy Wanjiru from Alliance Girls High School in Kiambu was the grand prize winner for secondary schools.Kiswahili Category had Elizabeth Awoton Chibile from Kang’alita Primary in Turkana and Mebo Eileen from Lugulu Girls School in Bungoma as top winners.In the KSL category, Warren Mbugua from Kambui School for the Deaf in Kiambu and Cynthia Atieno from St. Clare Ebukuya Secondary for the Hearing Impaired in Vihiga emerged overall winners for Primary and Secondary schools respectively.Precious Kalumu Kasongoa from Kitengela International School in Kajiado and Tracylyne Kemunto from Moi Girls High School in Eldoret as top winners in French Category for primary and secondary schools respectively.In the Art category, Godwin Kiprop of Chavakali High School in Vihiga and David Jackson of Milimani Primary in Nairobi took the top positions while Ivone Asasi from Goibei Girls High School in Vihiga County won the German prize. Winners received computing devices, scholarship money, gift hampers public recognition and other prizes from eKitabu and competition sponsors. Top 20 essays in English and Kiswahili categories in primary and secondary levels will be published by Pearson; a key partner and sponsor in the competition and will be available at www.ekitabu.com. ‘‘We thank eKitabu for working around the clock to promote inclusion in their programs. The Digital Essay Competition involves all students; both mainstream with learners with disabilities. Congratulations to all finalists and winners!” Sheilah Lutta from Kenya Ministry of Education Directorate of Special Needs Education.Now in its seventh year, the Competition seeks to advance education through the utilization of technology with teachers and students in all public and private schools across Kenya. The Competition was free and open to all public and private, primary and secondary, mainstream and special needs schools in Kenya from 11th April to 7th August 2019.The essays are assessed by a panel of judges comprised of competent teachers with wide experience in marking language subjects for Primary and Secondary examinations; distinguished leaders from Kenya’s publishing industry; and leaders from the public and private sector including Kenya Institute of Curriculum Development and the University of Nairobi. The judges first determine the top 20 essays per category before selecting winners.This year’s major sponsors were The Embassy of France in Kenya, Moran Publishers EA, Longhorn Publishers, and Pearson. To implement the Competition, eKitabu collaborated with partners including Kenya Ministry of Education and MOE Directorate of Special Needs Education (DSNE), Kenya Institute of Special Education (KISE), Kenya Institute of Curriculum Development (KICD), Goethe-Institut Kenya, Kenya Institute for the Blind (KIB), Kenya Association of Teachers of French (KATF), Kenya Primary School Heads Association (KEPSHA), Kenya Private Schools Association (KPSA), Kenya Publishers Association (KPA), Kenya Secondary School Heads Association (KESSHA), Education Development Trust (EDT), and University of Nairobi.

Share this:
Copyright © 2022 eKitabu LLC. All rights reserved.